skip to main content

$1,000 bursary award for students

The first 10 winners of the $1,000 student award bursary.


Conservation Foundation offers $1,000 student award
Ausable Bayfield Conservation Foundation (ABCF) brings back $1,000 Student Environmental Award bursary in 2021

The Ausable Bayfield Conservation Foundation (ABCF) is offering a $1,000 Student Environmental Award scholarship in 2021.

The Conservation Foundation is bringing back the student bursary which was not awarded in 2020. The bursary is presented to the winner of an application process. 

The Conservation Foundation presented this annual $1,000 bursary each year between 2010 and 2019. After a one-year hiatus, the award is back. 

“We are very proud to bring back the Student Environmental Award in 2021,” said Dave Frayne, ABCF Chair. “This $1,000 student bursary helps a local student in their studies and we encourage local young people to apply.”

There have been ten local recipients of the award. Past winners are: Ryan Finnie (2010); Raina Vingerhoeds (2011); Greg Urquhart (2012); Ryan Carlow (2013); Connor Devereaux (2014); Barb Alber (2015); Samantha Bycraft (2016); Marina Lather (2017); Ethan Quenneville (2018); and Meghan Glavin (2019).

The deadline to apply is Monday, June 28, 2021 by 4:30 p.m. 

For the application form and flyer poster, and for complete details, please visit the website at this web page link:

The successful applicant must be a graduating secondary school student or student currently enrolled in university or college pursuing education in a conservation-related course of study such as biology; ecology; geography; forestry; fish and wildlife; agriculture; or outdoor education.

Interested students are to write a creative two-page essay on their personal involvement with a conservation or environment-based project or organization.

Eligible students must be between the ages of 17 and 25, have a permanent address in a municipality of the Ausable Bayfield Conservation Authority (ABCA) watershed. Municipalities in the ABCA watershed are: Adelaide Metcalfe; Bluewater; Central Huron; Huron East; Lambton Shores; Lucan Biddulph; Perth South; Middlesex Centre; North Middlesex; South Huron; Warwick; and West Perth.

Visit for complete details.

Share this article >